Welcome to Young Women, Sister G!

Last week the Second Counselor and I had training with the president of our Young Women’s organization at church and I learned so much about the program, and yet I know so little!

If you aren’t a member of the Church ofJesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, or are a concert like me, the number of organizations and programs within the church that are always running can be overwhelming.

As a new convert I was given the opportunity to not only learn the gospel and gospel principles, I taught them as I learned them. That doesn’t mean I know the who’s who of the Book of Mormon yet, but I’m working on it.  

BTW thank you to TheRedHeadedHostess for the amazing DoodleBooks!!!! I hope that they will help me become closer with the Book of Mormon. While I’ve read through it and listened through several times, I’m still learning the history and the stories and know that the journals and DoodleBooks created by her will be a benefit for me.

Anyway, LDS Organization in a nut shell, ready go!  Kidding… 

I’ve said before that as a convert (silly auto correct keeps changing convert to concert… Replace convert with concert in the previous fragment and laugh), I have not had the opportunity to go through the Young Women’s program. I’m still struggling with mottos and themes and personal progress. 

There are also things that I don’t struggle with like loving the young women and the youth leaders, teaching when it’s my turn in the rotation.

I will learn the motto.  I love the theme:

Therefore, O ye that embark in the service of God, see that ye serve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength, that ye may stand blameless before God at the last day. (D&C 4:2)

I don’t know, there is just something about this quote and embarking in the service of God that speaks directly to me. While I missed our New Beginnings program and have no idea what that even is at this point, I am embarking in a new service to God and it is a bit exciting.

While our Ward is not as large as others and your Young Women meet together I have an amazing and very special group of young ladies that I have the opportunity to get to know as a Bee Hive Advisor.

During training I got to learn that we rotate which group of young ladies will conduct each month, how we rotate activities during the month and a bit about the young ladies that I will be serving.

I will also be the Personal Progress Coach. 

This part is one that is a bit scary for me. I am being encouraged to participate in Personal Progress and complete the program with my girls since I have not had the opportunity to do so before.

This was a wow moment for me. Part of my responsibilities will be to know what extra steps and activities we can do with a lesson to fulfill requirements for personal progress.

What a challenge that will be! I’m being asked to become an expert about something I know nothing about, for me this means reading through the personal progress book really fast a few times to get the gist of what this part of the program looks like and then start throwing together go to lists and activities. I can do this.

At the end of training, there was something that was more precious to me.

I was officially welcomed to Young Women. I received my Young Women pendant.   With a hug, I felt like after years of continuing in growing in my testimony and still growing in my conversion, that I finally belong.

I don’t have a chain for it yet, but I’ve been carrying it with me this week and look forward to completing my own Personal Progress and earning my medallion with my girls.

You could say that this years theme was just for me. Like my girls, I’m embarking in service of the Lord.

Leave a Reply

